On Reading / The English Teacher

That’s Embarrassing

Books I Haven’t Read (Yet)

Dostoyevsky’s Crime and Punishment. I know it’s some sort of literary crime to have avoided this one for so long. Quite certain that reading it will be punishment enough.

Nabokov’s Lolita. It’s sitting in a stack on the table presently holding my coffee.  I’ll get to it. I will.

Tolstoy’s War and Peace. It’s just so looooong…. (I have tried at least 10 times to read Anna Karenina, and failed miserably on each encounter. I get lost in the names. laaaaame.)

A pattern seems to be emerging here, doesn’t it?

Joyce’s Ulysses.  I am not a huge fan of Homer’s Odyssey either. Episodic epic or episodic chaos. Give me Jane Austen any day.

Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings Trilogy.  I know, I know, I know… Shoot me now.

Cooper’s The Last of the Mohicans. Something about a “wall of human flesh” ??

Heller’s Catch-22. (I didn’t read Remarque’s All Quiet on the Western Front until 2010. I see another pattern emerging)

E L James’ Fifty Shades of Gray. HA!

But I have read Gatsby and I’ve not seen the movie. And The Catcher in the Rye proves I can do stream-of-consciousness if I want to. I’ve read Les Miserables and A Tale of Two Cities, so I understand a bit about wars and rumors of wars. I’ve also read Reading Lolita in Tehran, so I’m not wholly unaware, and as far as epics go all 12 books of Paradise Lost remain high on my list of fantastic writing. (let’s not forget Milton was blind when he composed it!)

Still, an English teacher who hasn’t read Tolkien?

I keep trying to feel badly about it, but then I remember:

A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Othello,  Macbeth, The Taming of the Shrew, King Lear, Hamlet, The Tempest, Romeo & Juliet, Julius Caesar, The Winter’s Tale, As You Like It,  Measure for Measure, Henry IV parts I, II, Much Ado About Nothing, Richard III, Twelfth Night and a good many sonnets, and I think, hmmm. Not bad for an English teacher.

But I haven’t read Collins’ The Hunger Games Trilogy either, proving I lack nearly all social relevance.

So many books, so few hours each day. And I here I sit, blogging.

At least I’m not on Pinterest, pinning about all the books I love to read. Which reminds me…

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “That’s Embarrassing

  1. I would definitely start with “Crime and Punishment” (an absolute gem). Personally, I recommend you scratch “Lolita” off your list. I read it in college and, apart from purely prurient interest, I just didn’t find it that appealing.

Leave a Reply

